top of page

THIS IS IT, 2018.


It's that time of year again...'Tis the season for "new year, new me" ideas.

With 2018 fast approaching, come new hopeful resolutions which, more often than not, turn into forgotten/broken promises. Rather than regurgitate the new year, new me- esque ideas that will soon flood our social media feeds, I want to greet the upcoming new year, with a different proposal... Let's get real.

I recently stumbled upon the list of resolutions I made for the year 2017. Truth be told, I had forgotten all about it [ironic, considering I've composed lists for the past five years or so]. Despite the checkmarks I added next to the completed goals, I couldn't help but feel a bit disappointed to see the couple unchecked items on my list that I had so enthusiastically written down a year ago, now what if's.

Come New Year's, we tell ourselves, this is it. This time, it's going to be different. Whether it's finally shedding those stubborn 20 pounds, quitting bad habits, getting straights A's, spending less and earning more- we're determined to change.

There's nothing unrealistic about eating healthy, doing well in school/work, etc. These things are nothing short of admirable. The issue stems from what we really mean when we propose these things; we want to erase our mistakes and restart.

Surely, we don't expect to wake up on January 1st, as new people, right? Admittedly, it's easy to fall prey to the "new year, new me" bandwagon. Honestly, can we really be blamed? It's an appealing idea, to rid ourselves of past embarrassments, mistakes, and regrets- a clean slate.

But we aren't computers; we don't have hard drives that can be rebooted, wiped clean, new again. Things, people, experiences- life- leave marks on our minds and souls. These impressions can't be deleted and thrown away; they make up who we are.

We may lose those 20 pounds, get straight A's, etc. but, odds are we'll still end up disappointed by what we didn't do. Checking things off a list at the end of the year isn't the solution if what we really want is to become different people and undo what's been done; that's impossible.

Luckily, there is something we can do: we can be willing- willing to shift our perceptions, our mindsets, our approaches. If we want to change and really accomplish anything, we need to let go of the fantasy of our far off, future selves and focus on improving who we actually are, right now.

We have to take on a holistic approach, carry on with all our flaws and faults. No matter how hard we try, we can't erase and rewind our lives. But we can move forward.

We can...

-Practice self-love and do what feels right for the mind, body, and soul.

-Be patient with ourselves and embrace the beauty of uncertainty [proactiveness instead of preoccupation]

-Learn to let go of what hurts [stop giving the benefit of the doubt to those who don't see/love us for who we are; they're not worth it]

-Tend to the spark within us [stop pressing pause on ambitions and press play]

-Cling to the light- the people and things that make us feel good; cling to our happiness and never. let. go.

We can do all these things and more.

This year can be different. Things can and will change for the better as long as we remember that really, this is it. We get one shot in life to be the greatest we can be and because we know ourselves best, we're the only ones with the power do so.

This time, I'm not going to compose the epic poem of a resolutions list I've created in the past. This time, I'm going to work on being myself- not who I think I should be- [who others want me to be], but who I want to be.

So 2018, I greet you not as the "new year, new me", but as the "new year, same me," the girl who wants to grow wiser and stronger- the girl who's working on being the most unapologetic, true version of herself- the girl who wants to accomplish all that she can dream of and more.

**I DO NOT OWN THE IMAGES IN THIS POST**

I

FOLLOW ME!
  • Black Instagram Icon
SEARCH BY TAGS
FEATURED POSTS
ARCHIVE
bottom of page